Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Register
Award Recipients: Pillars of the Community Award
Share |

Pillars of the Community Award

This award is available to a Kansas lawyer and KBA member with a minimum of 10 years active non-specialized, general legal practice in a predominately low-density population area of Kansas. Recipients will have had substantial practice in small or solo law firms or local government service. Requirements are flexible but consideration will be given to the following factors, including how such factors apply to the lawyer’s community:

  • The variety/diversity of law practiced
  • Impact/high profile law work
  • General contributions to the law and legal profession
  • Specific contributions to the legal profession
  • Mentoring and support for legal education
  • Contributions to the State/community
  • Notable civic activities
  • Periods of elected or appointed public/government service
  • Military service
  • Examples of volunteerism and charitable activity
  • Reputation in the organized bar, State and community

This award may be but need not be given every year. More than one recipient can receive the award in a one year.

Past Recipients

Year Award Recipient
2019  Sarah B. Shattuck, Ashland 
2018 Thomas A. Adrian; and Robert W. Wise
2017 Sara S. Beezley