Print Page | Sign In | Register
Award Recipients: Phil Lewis Medal of Distinction
Share |

Phil Lewis Medal of Distinction

The KBA’s Phil Lewis Medal of Distinction is reserved for individuals or organizations in Kansas who have performed outstanding and conspicuous service at the state, national, or international level in administration of justice, science, the arts, government, philosophy, law, or any other field offering relief or enrichment to others.

The recipient need not be a member of the legal profession nor related to it, but the recipient’s service may include responsibility and honor within the legal profession.

The award is only given in those years when it is determined that there is a worthy recipient.

Past Recipients

Year Award Recipient
2020 Hon. Lawton R. Nuss, Topeka
2019  Gloria Farha Flentje, Wichita
2018 James K. Logan
2017 F. James Robinson, Jr.
2016 Wichita Bar Association Clean Slate Day
2015 Kansas Informed Voters Project
2014 Carol Gilliam Green
2013 Kansas Coalition Against Sexual and Domestic Violence (KCSDV)
2012 The Blue Ribbon Commission
2011 Hon. Robert E. Davis
2010 Hon. Sam A. Crow
2009 Chief Justice Kay McFarland
2008 Justice Fred N. Six
2007 Sen. Pat Roberts
2006 John E. Shamberg
2005 Kansas Army and Air National Guard
2004 Hon. Jerry G. Elliott
2003 Holly Grove and Andrew Schreiber
2002 190th Air Refueling Wing of the Kansas Air National Guard
2001 Wichita Women Attorneys Association
2000 Hon. Christel Marquardt
1999 Kansas Guardianship Program
1998 Hon. Wesley E. Brown
1997 Kansas CASA Association
1996 Martin Dickinson
1995 Richard C. Hite
1994 Clarence L. King Jr.
1993 Glee S. Smith Jr.
1992 TBA ADR Committee
1991 WBA Neighborhood Justice Center
1990 League of Women Voters
1989 Professor Michael Barbara
1988 Hon. David Prager II
1987 Irvin Reimer and Irvin Harms (Mennonite Rescue Team)
1986 Hon. Robert J. Dole
1985 Dr. Karl Menninger