Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Register
Award Recipients: Courageous Attorney Award
Share |

Courageous Attorney Award

The KBA created a new award in 2000 to recognize a lawyer who has displayed exceptional courage in the face of adversity, thus bringing credit to the legal profession. Examples of recipients of this type of award in other jurisdictions include a small-town lawyer who defended a politically unpopular defendant and lost most of his livelihood for the next 20 years, an African-American criminal defense attorney who defended two members of the white supremacist movement, and a small-town judge who lost his position because he refused the town council’s request to meet monetary quotas on traffic offenses. This award will be given only in those years when it is determined that there is a worthy recipient.

Past Recipients

Year Award Recipient
2019  Robert J. Dole, Washington, DC 
2018 Rekha Sharma-Crawford 
2017 Sarah A. Brown
2016 Hon. Larry T. Solomon
2015 Evan H. Ice, Sedgwick County District Attorney's Office
2012 Melanie S. Morgan
2011 Pedro L. Irigonegaray
2010 Kurt P. Kerns
2009 Dean Thomas J. Romig
2006 Maj. David E. Vercellone
2005 Hon. Terry L. Bullock
2002 John C. Durham