What are the CLE Requirements in Kansas?
An actively licensed Kansas attorney must complete 12 hours of CLE, including 2 hours of ethics and professionalism every compliance period. The CLE Compliance period runs from July 1 to June 30 every year.
Can I carry over CLE credit to the next compliance period?
An attorney can carry over 10 hours of CLE credit from the previous compliance period. Ethics and professionalism credit hours carry over as substantive credit.
What are the rules for Law Practice Management programming?
Law Practice Management is programming designed for attorneys on nonsubstantive topics that deal with means and methods for enhancing the quality and efficiency of an attorney’s service to the attorney’s clients.
If a program has been approved for Law Practice Management credit it will be designated as follows on the KBA website: Approved for 2 hours of CLE, including 1 hour of law practice management credit.
A maximum of 2 hours of law practice management credit can be obtained per compliance period, any hours accrued over 2 hours will be forfeit. Law Practice Management credits do not carry over as substantive credit.
I am newly licensed, when do I need to start accruing CLE hours?
An attorney newly admitted to practice law in Kansas during the period prior to the first compliance period beginning after admission to practice is exempt, for a time, from fulfilling the CLE requirement. -Please contact
the Kansas CLE Commission for questions regarding your CLE requirements as a newly admitted Kansas attorney.
- CLE Home
- Faculty Resources
- Planning Guide
- Program Schedule of Events