Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Register
News & Press: General

Kansas Bar Association Board of Governors Elections Results

Monday, May 14, 2018   (1 Comments)
Posted by: Meg Wickham
Share |


Kansas Bar Association Board of Governors Elections Results

TOPEKA, Kan. (May 14, 2018)

Voting has officially ended for the 2018 Kansas Bar Association (KBA) elections, and we are pleased to announce the results of this year’s election for the KBA Board of Governors.

Cheryl Whelan, Topeka, has been elected as the KBA’s Secretary/Treasurer. Cheryl has served as the District 5 Governor on the Kansas Bar Association Board of Governors. She has been very involved with the KBA at the committee and section level for more than 25 years. She currently serves on the KBA’s Board of Publishers, the Golf Tournament Planning Committee, the Law Related Education Committee, the Media- Bar Committee and the Nominating Committee. Cheryl is also involved in other professional and civic organizations including the Topeka Bar Association, the Women Attorneys Association of Topeka, the Kansas Women Attorneys Association and Sertoma. She is an Assistant Attorney General and the Director of Open Government Training and Compliance in the Office of Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt. She is also a Judge Advocate in the Army Reserve, and was awarded the Bronze Star for a combat deployment in Iraq. Cheryl earned both her Juris Doctor and Masters of Public Administration from the University of Kansas.

Natalie Haag, Topeka, has been elected as the Kansas Delegate to the American Bar Association House of Delegates. Natalie has practiced in civil and criminal litigation, administrative law and corporate law, in law firms, at the State of Kansas and in both public and private corporations. She has served as General Counsel and Chief of Staff to Governor Graves, Director of Governmental Affairs for Security Benefit Corporation and currently serves as General Counsel for Capitol Federal® Savings Bank. Natalie has served as President of the KBA, and on the Legislative Committee (former chair), 2020 Diversity Committee, and CLE Committee, among others. She is a member of the KBA, Topeka Bar Association, Women Attorneys Association of Topeka and Kansas Women Attorneys Association. Natalie also serves as the Second Congressional District Representative on the Supreme Court Nominating Commission. She earned her JD from the Washburn University School of Law. She has been recognized for her professional service with the 2008 Kansas Bar Association Outstanding Service Award, 2013 Topeka Bar Association Newton Vickers Professionalism Award and the 2016 Washburn University School of Law Alumni Fellow.

The KBA expresses its gratitude to all those who ran for office and its members who participated in the election.

For information on our current Board of Governors,


Meg Wickham, Director of Member and Communication Services
Direct: (785) 861-8817
Main: (785) 234-5696

About the Kansas Bar Association
The Kansas Bar Association is a voluntary professional association comprised of 7,000 members dedicated to advancing the professionalism of its members, encouraging public understanding of the law, and promoting the effective administration of our system of justice.


Robert R. Hiller Jr says...
Posted Monday, May 21, 2018
Congrats, Cheryl and Natalie !!