Print Page | Sign In | Register
News & Press: General

2017 KBA Award Recipients

Tuesday, April 25, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Meg Wickham
Share |

The Kansas Bar Association announces its awards for excellence in the profession and in service to the judiciary and the public.

Each year the Kansas Bar Association, acting on nominations from its membership, the bar at large, and the judiciary, recognizes judges, attorneys, and organizations who have served the profession and the public with excellence and have dedicated themselves to the advancement of the profession and the public good. This year’s awards and recipients are:

Phil Lewis Medal of Distinction for outstanding and conspicuous service by an individual or organization, awarded to F. James Robinson, Jr., Wichita.

Distinguished Service Award for continuous long-standing service to the legal profession or public, awarded to James M. Concannon, Topeka.

Professionalism Award recognizing an exemplar of the highest professional standards, to Hon. Gwynne E. Birzer, Wichita.

Pillars of the Community Award recognizing a Kansas lawyer with a minimum of 10 years active non-specialized, general legal practice in a predominately low-density population area of Kansas and substantial practice in small or solo law firms or local government service, to Sara S. Beezley, Girard.

Distinguished Government Service Award recognizing a Kansas attorney who has demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to government service, to Sharon L. Dickgrafe, Wichita.                                                             

Courageous Attorney Award for a lawyer who has displayed exceptional courage in the face of adversity, to Sarah A. Brown, Kansas City, Mo.

Outstanding Young Lawyer Award recognizing the efforts of a KBA Young Lawyers Section member who has rendered meritorious service to the legal profession, the community, or the KBA, to Jean B. Ménager, Overland Park.                                                            

Diversity Award recognizing an individual who has shown a continued commitment to diversity; a law firm; corporation; governmental agency, department, or body; law-related organization; or other organization that has significantly advanced diversity by its conduct, as well as by the development and implementation of diversity policies and strategic plans, to Hon. Melissa Taylor Standridge, Kansas Court of Appeals, Topeka.

Outstanding Service Awards recognizing lawyers and judges for service to the legal profession and/or the KBA and to recognize non-lawyers for especially meritorious deeds or service that significantly advance the administration of justice or the goals of the legal profession and/or the KBA, to Stephen B. Angermayer, Pittsburg; John T. Bird, Hays; Citizens of Trego County; Emily A. Donaldson, Topeka; Kurt P. Kerns, Wichita; William E. Quick, Kansas City, Mo.                                                                                                          

Pro Bono Award(s) recognizing a lawyer(s) or law firm(s) for the delivery of direct legal services, free of charge, to the poor or, in appropriate instances, to charitable organizations whose primary purpose is to provide other services to the poor, to Vincent J. Garcia, Wichita; Madison M. Hatten, Kansas City, Mo.; and Heather J. Schlozman, Overland Park.

Pro Bono Certificates of Appreciation will be awarded to, Danielle M. Atchison, Overland Park and Gabrielle M. Thompson, Manhattan.