Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Register
News & Press: Membership

Jan Hamilton named 2015 Robert L. Gernon Award recipient

Monday, October 5, 2015   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Beth Warrington
Share |

Jan Hamilton, of Topeka, has been selected by the Kansas Continuing Legal Education Commission as the recipient of the 2015 Robert L. Gernon Award.


He has practiced law in Topeka since 1973, most of that in private practice until he was appointed as the Standing Chapter 13 Trustee for Topeka in 1998, an appointment he continues to hold today. Throughout his career he has been involved in providing quality continuing legal education to the legal profession throughout the state of Kansas.


Hamilton graduated from Washburn University and received his juris doctorate from Washburn University School of Law. He belongs to several bankruptcy related organizations, including the National Association of Chapter 13 Trustees. He is also a Fellow in the American College of Bankruptcy.


About the Robert L. Gernon Award

Established in 2005 and presented annually by the Kansas Continuing Legal Education Commission, the Robert L. Gernon Award for Outstanding Service to Continuing Legal Education in Kansas recognizes those individuals or organizations that have demonstrated a unique commitment to legal education for lawyers in Kansas and have provided outstanding service to continuing legal education.


The award is named for Kansas Supreme Court Justice Robert L. Gernon (1943-2005), whose career included tireless devotion to the training, education and professionalism of attorneys in Kansas and across the nation.

  • Past Award Recipients
  • Steve Obermeier, Olathe (2014)
  • Robert Collins, Wichita (2013)
  • Cynthia Grimes, Lenexa (2012)
  • J. Nick Badgerow, Overland Park (2011)
  • Jack Scott McInteer, Wichita (2010)
  • Mira Mdivani, Overland Park (2009)
  • Sheila Reynolds, Topeka (2008)
  • Hon. Robert J. Schmisseur, Pratt (2007)
  • Philip Bowman, Wichita (2006)