Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Register
News & Press: General

14 apply for Kansas Supreme Court vacancy

Thursday, July 10, 2014   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Beth Warrington
Share |

Today 14 attorneys and judges applied by the noon deadline to fill a Kansas Supreme Court vacancy created by the July 28 departure of Justice Nancy Moritz to serve on the Tenth U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals.


The applicants are: Hon. Karen Arnold-Burger, Topeka; Victor J. Braden, Lawrence; Hon. Daniel D. Creitz, Erie; Dennis D. Depew, Neodesha; Linda D. Kirby, Wichita; David R. Klaassen, Marquette; Hon. Thomas E. Malone, Topeka; Anthony W. Mattivi, Topeka; Hon. Steven C. Montgomery, Spring Hill; Steven J. Obermeier, Olathe; Hon. Anthony J. Powell, Wichita; Curtis O. Roggow, Shawnee; Hon. Caleb Stegall, Lawrence; and Hon. Merlin G. Wheeler, Emporia.


Today’s applicants will be interviewed on August 4 and 5 by the Supreme Court Nominating Commission at the Kansas Judicial Center in Topeka. The interviews will be open to the public and any interested parties are encouraged to attend.


After the interviews have been completed, the nominating commission will submit the names of three qualified individuals to the governor. The governor will then choose from that list to fill the Supreme Court vacancy.


Created by the Kansas Constitution, the Supreme Court Nominating Commission is a nine-person independent body composed of four non-attorney members appointed by the governor, four attorney members selected by attorneys in each of the state’s congressional districts, and the commission chair who is an attorney elected by attorneys in a statewide vote. Its members are: Anne E. Burke, chair, Overland Park; Jay F. Fowler, Wichita; Natalie G. Haag, Topeka; Robert Hayworth, Shawnee Mission; Felita R. Kahrs, Topeka; Matthew D. Keenan, Leawood; Gary T. Mason, Maize; David J. Rebein, Dodge City; and Linda B. Weis, Manhattan.