Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
KBA Search
Award Recipients: Pro Bono Award
Share |

This award recognizes a lawyer or law firm for the delivery of direct legal services, free of charge, to the poor or, in appropriate instances, to charitable organizations whose primary purpose is to provide other services to the poor. In addition to the Pro Bono Award, the KBA awards a number of Pro Bono Certificates of Appreciation to lawyers who meet the following criteria:

  • Lawyers who are not employed full time by an organization that has as its primary purpose the provision of free legal services to the poor;
  • Lawyers who, with no expectation of receiving a fee, have provided direct delivery of legal services in civil or criminal matters to a client or client group that does not have the resources to employ compensated counsel;
  • Lawyers who have made a voluntary contribution of a significant portion of time to providing legal services to the poor without charge; and/or
  • Lawyers whose voluntary contributions have resulted in increased access to legal services on the part of low– and moderate–income persons.

Past Recipients

YearAward Recipient
2015Mira Mdivani
2014David J. Berkowitz, Claudia J. Dawson, Nancy A. OglePhotos
2013Joni J. Franklin
2012William K. Schmidt
2011Zach Chaffee–McClure
2010Kathleen O. Coode
2009Kansas Elder Law Hotline
2008U.S. District Court for the District of Kansas Pro Se Task Force
2007T. Lynn Ward
2006Thomas C. Henderson
2005Carol A. Boorady and Jim L. Lawing
2004Scott Wissel, Alan F. Alderson, Cary L. Standiferd
2003Randall W. Weller
2002William H. Zimmerman Jr.
2001Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP, Melanie J. Branham
2000Robert L. Kennedy Sr., Paul W. Rebein, Diane W. Simpson
1999W. Thomas Stratton Jr.
1998Clifford L. Malone
1997Thomas J. Drees
1996J. Eugene Balloun
1994Alderson, Alderson, Montogmery & Newberry
1993Martin J. Weishaar, Steven L. Islas
1992James F. Vano, Robert L. Feldt
1991David R. Morris, Susan C. Jacobson
1990Sloan, Listrom Law Firm
1989John M. Simpson
1988Roberta L. Comer
1987Cary L. Standiferd


more Calendar

5/6/2016 » 5/7/2016
2016 Solo and Small Firm Conference

2016 Midwest Intellectual Property Institute

Webinar-Seven Ways Good Law Firms Lose Money

2016 Corporation Banking & Business, Corporate Counsel and Tax CLE

Featured Members

Online Surveys
Membership Software Powered by®  ::  Legal