Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
KBA Search
Award Recipients: Courageous Attorney Award
Share |

The KBA created a new award in 2000 to recognize a lawyer who has displayed exceptional courage in the face of adversity, thus bringing credit to the legal profession. Examples of recipients of this type of award in other jurisdictions include a small-town lawyer who defended a politically unpopular defendant and lost most of his livelihood for the next 20 years, an African-American criminal defense attorney who defended two members of the white supremacist movement, and a small-town judge who lost his position because he refused the town council’s request to meet monetary quotas on traffic offenses. This award will be given only in those years when it is determined that there is a worthy recipient.


Past Recipients

YearAward Recipient
2013No Awardee Selected
2012Melanie S. Morgan
2011Pedro L. Irigonegaray
2010Kurt P. Kerns
2009Dean Thomas J. Romig
2006Maj. David E. Vercellone
2005Hon. Terry L. Bullock
2002John C. Durham


more Calendar

Diversity Committee Meeting

Brown Bag Ethics: The Bermuda Triangle of Law: Ethics, Advertising, and Social Media Use

Brown Bag Ethics: Recent Developments in Ethics

2015 Bankruptcy & Insolvency CLE

Featured Members

Online Surveys
Membership Software Powered by®  ::  Legal